Efnet in Germany

General talk about EFnet

Moderators: Website/Forum Admins, EFnet/General Moderators

Efnet in Germany

Postby 3678 » Sat Aug 05, 2006 8:43 pm

Hello,

I am new in that forum, but I am using Efnet since beginning of Eris server. I am wondering that there is no server for a longer time since Gigabell went down. Obviously there were several trials to set up an Efnet server in Germany, At least by Colt and Gatel. Colt was not accepted by Efnet, Gatel server was online for a short time, only.

I would like to know the reason for that situation.

Greetings from Germany
Pills
Forum Admin

Postby Pills » Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:49 pm

The reason that there are no servers in Germany? Talk to the German ISPs; there's not much we can do about it unless we get volunteers that can run a good server.
admin, irc.umich.edu
oper, irc.servercentral.net

Efnet accepts servers by ISPs only ?

Postby 3678 » Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:00 pm

Does that mean, nobody can join a server to Efnet if he is not an ISP ? If s.o. pays a hoster for a server he cannot operate an Efnet Server ?
wundr

Re: Efnet accepts servers by ISPs only ?

Postby wundr » Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:40 pm

worf wrote:Does that mean, nobody can join a server to Efnet if he is not an ISP ? If s.o. pays a hoster for a server he cannot operate an Efnet Server ?
I would guess that it's not a question of HAVING to be an ISP, but rather a question of whether the hoster woud allow an EFNet server on their network. If the place hosting the server has the bandwidth, and also supports having an EFNet server on their network then I would guess they'd have a good chance at being accepted, ISP or otherwise.

Postby 3678 » Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:28 pm