Irc hosting questions.

General talk about EFnet

Moderators: Website/Forum Admins, EFnet/General Moderators

Toxik dragon

Irc hosting questions.

Postby Toxik dragon » Fri Dec 17, 2004 4:35 am

Hello

I am trying to set up an irc chat for a forum I mod at but I am new to irc. Sorry for the noob questions and I hope this is the right place to post this.
Thanks for any help

1. How do I set up an irc server.

2. If at all possible can I set up a channel with an existing efnet sever and how would I go about doing that.
munky
Site Admin

Postby munky » Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:50 pm

1) use an existing irc server (irc.efnet.info will work)
2) to "set up" a channel, simply join a channel that doesn't exist. it helps to have a bot to help you maintain ops. to get an irc chat for your forum, you can set up a website with cgi:irc or jpilot
In God we trust,
Everyone else must have an X.509 certificate.
lucy

Postby lucy » Fri Dec 17, 2004 2:09 pm

another good website chat program to check out is pjirc
Toxik dragon

Postby Toxik dragon » Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:05 am

munky wrote:1) use an existing irc server (irc.efnet.info will work)
2) to "set up" a channel, simply join a channel that doesn't exist. it helps to have a bot to help you maintain ops. to get an irc chat for your forum, you can set up a website with cgi:irc or jpilot
Ok just to make sure I am understanding you I would join the channel with the name I would like to use and that makes the channel for me and it stays for good right. For severs I could do that on any server I wish right.
wundr

Postby wundr » Sat Dec 18, 2004 11:25 am

Toxik dragon wrote:Ok just to make sure I am understanding you I would join the channel with the name I would like to use and that makes the channel for me and it stays for good right.