Page 1 of 1

problem linking ratbox locally

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 1:56 pm
by -wassup-
hi,
i want to test a ratbox server so i decided to link one to one of the hub servers locally. when i start it up i get this message.
-irc.warindustries.com- *** Notice -- Connection to ratbox.blackcode.com activated.
-irc.warindustries.com- *** Notice -- ERROR :from ratbox.blackcode.com[unknown@255.255.255.255] -- Closing Link: c-7a2272d5.010-112-76786a11.cust.bredbandsbolaget.se (Invalid servername.)
-irc.warindustries.com- *** Notice -- Server ratbox.blackcode.com[unknown@255.255.255.255] closed the connection
-irc.warindustries.com- *** Notice -- ratbox.blackcode.com had been connected for 0 days, 0:00:01

this my connect block in the ratbox server:
connect "127.0.0.1" {
host = "127.0.0.1";
send_password = "ratboxrocks";
accept_password = "ratboxrocks";
encrypted = no;
port = 7000;
hub_mask = "*";
#leaf_mask = "*.uk.*";
class = "server";
autoconn = yes;
#compressed = yes;
topicburst = yes;
fakename = "irc.warindustries.com";
};

here are my C/N lines on the hybrid 6.4.1 server:
##link with ratbox test server
C:127.0.0.1:ratboxrocks:ratbox.blackcode.com::2
N:127.0.0.1:ratboxrocks:ratbox.blackcode.com::2

some stuff you may need to know:
ratbox.blackcode.com is not a real DNS address (i've faked hostnames in linking servers like this before so i dont see a problem. i have also tried taking that out.)
irc.warindustries.com resolves to an ip but when you RDNS it it resolves to c-7a2272d5.010-112-76786a11.cust.bredbandsbolaget.se

thanks for any help :)

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 5:14 pm
by Hwy
Why are you using "fakename" here?

fakename is only meant to be used for masking servers (IE how concentric used to be *.concentric.net and lagged used to be *.lagged.org)

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:12 pm
by -wassup-
oh i thought that was to have it show up in /links as that fake name. well i tried it commented out and sitll no luck.

Re: problem linking ratbox locally

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:09 pm
by leeh
-wassup- wrote:this my connect block in the ratbox server:
connect "127.0.0.1" {
host = "127.0.0.1";
This is a connect block for a server *named* 127.0.0.1 on *host* 127.0.0.1, which is probably not what you want (and probably isnt valid anyway).

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 8:51 pm
by -wassup-
i do want it to connect locally on port 7000. i am connecting the servers on the same box. a friend and i did this before with a hybrid 6.3.1 and a hybrid 7rc10 server before

Posted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 10:49 pm
by leeh
-wassup- wrote:i do want it to connect locally on port 7000. i am connecting the servers on the same box. a friend and i did this before with a hybrid 6.3.1 and a hybrid 7rc10 server before
Read what I said.

According to that connect block, the server you are connecting to [irrelevant of whether youre connecting to localhost, remote ip, or the moon] is actually called "127.0.0.1" as its servername.

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 3:08 pm
by -wassup-
this was my fault...i thought that the name didnt have anything to do with it. i thought you could name it anything and it was just a reminder for yourself. thanks for your help...sorry for my stupidity. :)